18 March 2018

Michele Boscacci & Robert Antonioli are the surprise winners

Michele Boscacci and Robert Antonioli win the Pierra Menta. On the last day of the competition, with race leaders Kilian Jornet – Jakob Herrmann forced to retire due to an injury to the Catalan, the first team to cross the line are Xavier Gachet and William bon Mardion; the Italians are second for the fourth time and win the second stage of the Grande Course 2018.  In the women’s race, Laetitia Roux and Emelie Forsberg win the final stage, but Axelle Mollaret from France and her Italian teammate Katia Tomatis take overall victory.

The 33rd edition of the Tour de France of ski-mountaineering will be remembered for the continual reversals of fortune and a dramatic last-minute turn of events which snatched certain victory from the team everyone expected to win. The disconsolate expression on the face of Jakob Hermann as he crossed the line on his own, the Catalan champion in hospital for tests, and the snowstorm that once again prevented the ski-mountaineers from reaching their most sought-after objective, the legendary Grand Mont.   

At first, everything goes as expected; then, on the second downhill stretch, Jornet falls. The French team take over the lead and when the Italian pair catch up with the leaders, the Catalan himself urges them to go on. At the finish line, the Italian fans go wild. They have a final overall time of 9h57’54” and it’s party time at Albosaggia, their hometown. Second place, with a 7’20” gap, goes to Gachet-Bon Mardion, and third place to Favre and Blanc with a gap of 30’42” from the winners.

In the women’s race Katia Tomatis and Axelle Mollaret grant their adversaries Emelie Forsberg and Laetitia Roux the honours of war, by leaving them the last stage victory. The Italo-French team top the final overall rankings with a time of 12h11’04”. Second place overall went to Forsberg – Roux, while Mireia Mirò and Marta Garcia Farres were third.

PIERRA MENTA JEUNES – Under the falling snow of Le Planay, Giulia Murada and Giorgia Felicetti win the Pierra Juniores, ahead of Justine Tonso and Marie Pollet-Villard. Florence Buchs – Emilie Farquet take third place.  In the boys’ race, the Swiss duo Arno Lietha and Patrick Perreten come from behind to take victory. Second place goes to Arthur Blanc from France and Julien Ançay from Switzerland. Julien Bernaz and Ellmenreich Baptiste come third. In the girls’ Cadet category, the winners are Madeline Paillard from France and her teammate Andrea Sinfreu Alduncin from Andorra, with second place going to Silvia Berra and Nicole Valli. Julie Charles – Aurelie Avanturier come third. In the boys’ Cadet category, Alix Trinquier -  Remy Garcin from France come in first place ahead of Tobias Donnet – Maxime Trobet, with third place going to Simone Murada and Rocco Baldini.


Technical Sponsor
Comina Architecture
 International Ski Mountaineering Federation

Copyright © 2019 La Grande Course - Privacy