12 March 2023

Pierra Day Four

Michele Boscacci - Davide Magnini and Axelle Mollaret - Emily Harrop won the 37th edition of Pierra Menta. A 600 m d+ time trial with a time trial start decided the transalpine stage of La Grande Course. Two different ways of handling the race: the Italians won it without winning a single stage, the French women dominated them all. The metres of height difference may not have been the standard 10,000 that Pierra has made us accustomed to, there were 3 stages instead of 4, but the 2023 race will be remembered for the practical organisational difficulties that the transalpine organising committee had to face. Snow cover at its lowest for the first two days. Rain, hail and fog led to the cancellation of the third day, while the final race took place under a heavy snowfall that deposited 40 cm of fresh snow on the ground within a few hours. A real nightmare for the course setters. On the overall podium were the locals William Bon Mardion - Xavier Gachet (who also won the final stage) and Mathéo Jacquemoud - Samuel Equy. Completing the top five were the Italians Nadir Maguet - Matteo Eydallin and Jakob Herrmann - Martin Anthamatten.

In the women's category, the classification had already been decided by Thursday, with the reigning world champions Axelle Mollaret - Emily Harrop who competed hard right from the start. Completing the podium were sisters Léna - Candice Bonnel and Italians Martina Valmassoi - Elena Nicolini.

YOUNG RACE: Also in the race were the youngsters in the youth categories, who competed on the same 600m high course with a time trial start. Among the under 20, the Swiss Loic Dubois - Jon Kistler and the Italians Noemi Junod - Clizia Vallet won. In the under 18 race, Italians Lorenzo Milesi - Luca Curioni and Vanessa Marca - Olga Corti put everyone behind. French success in the under 16 race with Gustave Blanc - Kerian Grimaud. THE LGC CIRCUIT: La Grande Course season will continue on 25 March with the Adamello Skiraid called to award the ISMF world titles for the Long Distance discipline. The award of the final trophy to the winners of the 2022/20223 circuit will be on 22 April with the Mezzalama Trophy.

Pierra Day4 Maurizio Torri EOSR0908
Pierra Day4 Maurizio Torri EOSR1223
Pierra Day4 Maurizio Torri EOSR1168
Pierra Day4 Maurizio Torri EOSR1117

Technical Sponsor
 International Ski Mountaineering Federation

Copyright © 2019 La Grande Course - Privacy